NPWS Errata/Clarifications 1.2
4-2-12

RULES

2.3.1 - change second bullet to read:

“Parma, Mantua, Mirandola and the Papal States represent
independent (i.e. neutral) Italian duchies and church lands.
The scenario set-up (20.1) specifies if a space begins the
game under the control of a side. Unlike Bavaria and
Portugal, however, these spaces may be entered and
controlled by either side at any time.”

3.1 - beginning text:
In the second line add “or siege” after the word battle (so it
reads, “...as a result of battle or siege;...”)

3.1 -second bullet (CR):
In the third line add “himself and” after the word rally (so it
reads, “...rally himself and a number of corps...”)

3.3.2 — change to read:
“The counter mix should be sufficient, however all game
markers may be duplicated if necessary.”

(Designer comment — avoids potential gamey stuff around
fortified line construction; should be very rare that mix will
not be adequate)

4.1.2 - change first sentence to read:

“Stacking is enforced at the conclusion of a move or retreat.
Stacking limits may be temporarily exceeded while a force
moves through a space (i.e. the moving force and/or any
inactive friendly corps in the space exceed the stacking
limit), or when moving into a space for the purpose of lifting
asiege (17.3.4 and 17.6.1).”

(Designer comment — clears up that a force can move
through a space that is already overstacked without penalty;
same if moving through a space with less stacking capability
- like the Alps)

6.1 — SPACES table:
For Level 2 and Level 3 Fortresses, it should read “... - the # is
printed on the map”

6.2 — Bourbon automatic victory — 3" condition should
read:
“3. The British withdrew this turn and the VP level is at 14 or
less.”

7.2.6 — second sentence:
“Subsidy power’s capital”, not “Empire’s capital”

11.1.3 — change to read (and add Play Note):

“A LOC may also be traced by sea. The path of spaces must
include (or start in) a port and then trace through a friendly
controlled sea zone(s) to a friendly port. From that second
port, the path is traced normally to the capital. If the path
includes a land-based component to reach a port, that port
must be friendly-controlled and not under siege.

Play Note: A force besieging an enemy port is supplied if it
can trace through a friendly sea zone(s). Also, if the
terminating port is the supply source itself (i.e. Amsterdam,
Lisbon, or Barcelona) the LOC is still valid even if the port is
under siege. Note the Alliance immediately loses the ability
to trace a sea LOC through the Med if the Bourbons win a
naval battle.”

12.1 - GENERAL:

Swap steps 1 & 2 (build/restore comes before placing
reinforcements, it is correct elsewhere in rules and player
aid)

13.5.4 — Rally Action:
Remove parenthetical from fourth line (leaders should not
count in the calculation)

15.3 - Level 2 Lines — add a new sentence at the end:
Also causes a -1 die roll modifier to bypass attempts.

15.4 - step 1 — add another sentence at end:
Also subtract 1 if attempting to bypass a Level-2 line.

17.5.8 — Honors of War — add a Play Note:

“Play Note: If the fortress is a port adjacent to a friendly sea
zone, the garrison may be transferred by sea to an eligible
port space within that sea zone at the owning player’s
option”.

18.2 — add a Play Note after the Note:

“Play Note: If the Bourbons control Madrid and five
fortresses (Right 1) and the Alliance controls Barcelona and
five fortresses (Left 1), these cancel and the net result is “No

”n

Move”.

19.0A - clarification:
Per 16.4, a force withdrawing during winter quarters may
retreat by sea if eligible



20.2 - change 2" bullet note to read:

“All spaces are controlled by the home power except
Mantua and Mirandola (Alliance-controlled), and Cologne
and Landau (Bourbon-controlled).

20.2.1 - Force Pool — last line:
“join”, not “joining”

20.4(3.b) - third bullet should read:
“Place the full-strength Dutch corps that was held aside at
game start into the space”.

20.4(3.c) — add a new sentence:
“Place the Dutch corps in the Alliance Force Pool.”

21.0 Extended Example Of Play — change paragraph in
opening section just prior to Alliance Round 1 to read:

“Per the special rules for the 1702 turn (20.4), there are only
4 rounds this turn. The Alliance player has the Initiative
(13.2.1); he plays his 3-action card to ensure he goes first
and gets several operations underway.”

21.0 Extended Example Of Play — second paragraph of
Alliance Round 2:

As clarified in 11.1.3 above, a force besieging an enemy port
has a sea LOC if the port is in a sea zone friendly to the
besieger. To make the example work, change the siege die
roll against Cadizto a 1 (i.e. no -1 drm to the roll).

PLAYER AID

Page 1 - Actions Rules— second bullet:
Alliance has initiative 1702-1707, Bourbons 1708 to end

Page 2 — Reinforcement Phase — Bourbon RPs:
Remove mention of Great Famine card (the card does not
affect RPs)

Page 2 — Naval Rules — Deploying the Toulon Fleet -
Bourbon win:

Should read: “Bourbons take immediate control until Step C
of Winter Quarters Phase (after -2 VP adjust)”

Page 4 — Battles — Outcome:
Add “.. and Named Leader casualties” to end of first
sentence (so it reads”.. check for Famous Victory and
Named Leader casualties.”)

CARDS

Savoy switches sides:

Typo — one corps should be placed in Turin, the other is
placed in the force pool (rule 7.2.2 is correct)

Death of Emperor Joseph:
Clarification — Eugene cannot transfer during Reinforcement

Phase

MAP

Turin and Milan:
The red VP numbers are accurate but not necessary

MODIFIED INITIATIVE RULE - RECOMMENDED

Warren Bruhn made a good suggestion that enhances the
value of initiative and provides the Alliance a benefit in the
early going. In addition to the Campaign Phase, the Initiative
player now has the choice to go first or second in the Event

Card Phase and Reinforcement Phase as well.

If playing with this rule, the a) IMPORTANT note under the
Sequence of Play on page 7, b) first sentence in 9.1, and c)
first sentence in 12.1 are changed to reflect this rule.



